You are here


Collections have been established by actors such as Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne, Melvyn Douglas, Kitty Carlisle, Hal Holbrook, and the Actors Studio, and playwrights including S.N. Behrman, Moss Hart, Langston Hughes, George S. Kaufman, Walter and Jean Kerr, Howard Lindsay and Russell Crouse, N. Richard Nash, Paul Osborn, and Dale Wasserman.

The Center also holds the papers of the Playwrights Company (founded by Maxwell Anderson, Sidney Howard, Elmer Rice, Robert Sherwood, and Behrman). The work of composers and lyricists Marc Blitzstein, Sheldon Harnick, Stephen Sondheim, and of costume, set and lighting designers Dorothy Jeakins, Gilbert Hemsley, and Jean Rosenthal, is fully documented in their collections of original scores and designs. The practical as well as the creative aspects of Broadway theater of the 1940s to the 1960s are extensively covered in the collections of producers and directors Kermit Bloomgarden, Hilliard Elkins, Herman Levin, David Merrick, and Dwight Deere Wiman.

Information about WCFTR theater collections is available in the University of Wisconsin's integrated library catalog:

[limit your search to the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives location to find the WCFTR's holdings]